Posted by: diywannabe | January 28, 2011

European Holiday

Things have been a little crazy around here lately.  Bob found out that he’ll have to go to London for work in February.  Well, it was too good of an opportunity to pass up so….I’m meeting him over there for a little impromptu vacation!  We’ll be visiting London, Paris, & a couple of places in Switzerland.  I’ve been researching like mad trying to nail down all of the details.  The only place in Europe that I’ve visited is Italy.  The middle of winter is definitely not the time of year I would have chosen to visit, but having free airfare for one of us is probably worth it.

Anyhoo, I don’t speak a single word of French past “Bonjour” so hopefully I don’t make too much of a fool of myself and give Americans a bad name.  Should be interesting!

We plan on seeing things like this:

And doing a whole lot of this:

Okay, maybe not that exactly.  That’s just gross.  But we are looking forward to sampling some delicious wine!

I think I’ve watched too much TV or Castaway too many times because the 8 hour flight over the Atlantic by myself has me a little anxious.  The first thing out of my mom’s mouth when I told I was going was (I kid you not), “Go get yourself a prescription of Ambien!  It’s the greatest!”.  Not sure when my mom became such a sleeping pill connoisseur but I’m really thinking about it since I’ll be flying overnight.  And I’ll be arriving on Bob’s birthday so I wouldn’t want to show up with zero hours of sleep under my belt.  No sleep = GRUMPY/DRAGON LADY. 

One of the best parts about this is that I get to spend Valentine’s Day (also my birthday) in Paris!

One thing I know for sure- Europe is expensive.  So the cash flow towards some projects at home has been halted temporarily.  Yuck.  But we have been working hard on our half bathroom makeover the past couple weekends!  Some more caulk and a bit more painting and we should be good to go.  Before & After pics to follow….

Responses

  1. Wow sounds like an amazing trip planned. Switzerland is on my travel to do list and I may go there a week or so before Valentine’s day.

    As long as you know Bonjour and say it when you enter anywhere or before you begin a conversation with someone, you’ll be fine. From my understanding Americans have been making fools of themselves in France long before we were born. We’ll just continue the trend. haha

    Also, when leaving somewhere, it is polite to say thank you and goodbye (Merci. Au revoir.).

  2. I live in Spain, but I’ve been to London, Paris, and Switzerland, and I love all three of them! Let me know if you have any questions about Europe in general…

  3. Ainhoa, here’s a question for you: Is it true that in Barcelona that you’ll have a really tough time if you don speak spanish or catalonia??
    Are they tourist friendly is what I really want to know.


Leave a Reply

Categories

